Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default This is why ATI is always better than NVIDIA

DISCLAIMER: This is not a X vs Y thread. I am not responsible for any heart attacks caused by infractions, flaming and all sorts. Because if you do, then you obviously didn't read the article below.

Memories… ? Tiny Subversions Tiny Subversions
    My friend Coray was recently lengthily profiled on Gamasutra. Which reminds me of a story.

I first met Coray at the Game Developers Conference in 2003 (my first one ever). He was a student (or had just ceased being a student) and was trying to break in. I was a student and just checking things out. Anyway, I met him through Jeff who knew him through the NJ IGDA Chapter.

That year was the big nVidia vs. ATI graphics card war. It was full-on Radeon vs. GeForce back then. As a result, both companies were attempting to woo developers. nVidia had chartered a bus painted green with the big nVidia fairy on the side, and was shuttling developers from bar to bar in downtown San Jose.

One night, Jeff, Coray, and a few other student types decided to go on the bus. We couldn’t actually enter the bars because we weren’t 21 at the time. So we hung out on the bus. They gave us free Bawls, and there were TVs playing nVidia graphics demos on continuous loop. It was pretty fun, but there were a few problems.

For one, nVidia had hired models to chat with us. For $15 an hour, they pretended to be nice to our sorry asses. I was pretty well infuriated with this, and even more infuriated when some of my friends (we were a group of all males) actually bought into this and believed that the models geniunely enjoyed talking to them. However, the models did seem to be actually pretty nice, and I felt sorry for them when the redneck who was hired by nVidia to actually manage the bus got drunker and drunker and started sexually harrassing the girls.