• Mindanao Memoir - Camiguin

It's been more than six months now since the job I very much enjoy doing has brought me to the beautiful island of Mindanao.

I never thought I would stay here as long as I have, and I'm incredibly grateful because the southernmost major island group of this country has so much to offer. What I specifically like about being assigned in Cagayan De Oro is that it is a gateway to so many other mesmerizing places such as Bukidnon, Iligan, Camiguin, The Surigaos, Siargao and many more!

Looking back, it now comes as a delightful surprise how I've been able to visit all of those places in less than 5 months. It might not sound like a feat to many (maybe because it isn't), but a couple of months back, I didn't even know I would be working here.

Ever since I started training in this lovely place, I've also been able to sprawl in a web of adventures and post-summer frolicking--and that alone is an achievement to me!

So in the spirit of thanksgiving and merry-making, allow me to share to you the very things I am thankful to God for: my short-lived weekend vacations.

Photo from Sandier Pastures

Camiguin

One of my first stops was Camiguin. I remember having a bad day prior to my visit here, but getting here just made me temporarily forgot the woes I had.

White Island is such a tranquil place and its simplicity and bareness is exactly what makes it a perfect vacation spot.

The volcano you see from a distance even gives it a more scenic touch. Be warned, however, that this islet is extremely hot as there are no sources of shade other than the available umbrellas for rent.

Can you just help me bask in how clear the water is?

What's nice about Camiguin is that, even if it's such a tiny island, mother nature has so many works of art there, you won't really run out of places to visit. This photo was taken at the Tuasan Falls, just a few meters away from the plunge.